Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - August 7, 2014 50th Anniversary Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions Returns to Indy

Historic PBA Major Championship returns to the city of its birth Feb. 11-15, 2015

Bill Vint | PBA Media Relations 

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana – Woodland Bowl, the host for some of the most memorable championships in Professional Bowlers Association history, will once again step into the spotlight early in 2015 when  the 50th anniversary PBA Tournament of Champions returns to the city where it was born.

The newly-renovated Woodland Bowl will host the milestone Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions Monday, Feb. 11 through Sunday, Feb. 15, when ESPN will televise the finals live at 1 p.m. ET. Throughout its history, Woodland Bowl has hosted 30 PBA Tour events including four U.S. Opens, two PBA World Championships, two PBA Touring Players Championships and, most recently, the 2013 PBA Tournament of Champions which was won in historic fashion by PBA Hall of Famer Pete Weber.

Weber also won the 1991 U.S. Open and 1992 PBA Touring Players Championships at Woodland.

“I told (Woodland Bowl general manager) Jim Doty, what a great place to break Earl’s record,” Weber said, referring to that fact that he’s tied with PBA legend Earl Anthony with 10 PBA major titles. “I feel comfortable when I walk in the door because I know I’m going to bowl well.

“When I heard the news that we’re going back to Woodland, I told myself I know I can win there. You always want to do something Earl hasn’t done, so winning my 11th major there would be really cool.”

Weber tied Anthony for most PBA majors when he defeated Australia’s Jason Belmonte, 224-179, to win the 2013 Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions, becoming the oldest player ever to win at the TOC at age 50 and becoming the only player in PBA history to complete the PBA Triple Crown (TOC, U.S. Open and PBA World Championship) twice. Belmonte will return to Indianapolis as defending TOC champion after winning the 2014 title in Allen Park, Mich.

The return of the TOC to Indianapolis is significant because the tournament originated at Play Bowl in 1962 in Indianapolis and Indianapolis was the home to titled sponsor Barbasol when it was invented as the first commercial shaving cream in 1919.

“We’re very happy to continue our partnership with the PBA for the third year in a row,” said Barbasol Director of Media Relations Dean Bring. “Barbasol has a rich legacy of sports sponsorship and to be aligned with the PBA’s signature event is a great fit for both of our organizations.”

Tournament of Champions week will begin with PBA Hall of Fame induction ceremonies on Tuesday, Feb. 10. The PBA will announce additional details regarding the hall of fame soon.

A capacity field of 150 champions will begin competition on Wednesday, Feb. 11, with eight-game qualifying rounds at 10 a.m. and 5 p.m. Every PBA member in good standing who has ever won a PBA title – PBA Tour, PBA50 Tour, PBA International Tour, PBA Regional or PBA Women’s Series – will be eligible to participate.

After a third qualifying round Thursday morning, the top 24 players will advance to eight-game round-robin match play rounds Thursday and Friday to determine the five stepladder finalists.

Saturday’s schedule will feature three pro-am squads for Indianapolis area grassroots men, women, youth and senior league bowlers.

In addition to live coverage of the finals on ESPN, the Tournament of Champions will be covered live from start through match play on Xtra Frame, including pre- and post-finals special shows, on the PBA’s online bowling channel. To subscribe, visit and click on the Xtra Frame link.



(All times Eastern)

Tuesday, Feb. 10
1 p.m. – Official practice session
6 p.m. – PBA Hall of Fame ceremonies and dinner


Wednesday, Feb. 11
10 a.m. – 8 games qualifying, all players
5 p.m. – 8 games qualifying, all players


Thursday, Feb. 12
10 a.m. – 8 games qualifying, all players
  •   Top 24 after 24 games advance to round-robin match play
5 p.m. – Top 24, 8 games round-robin match play


Friday, Feb. 13
10 a.m. – Top 24, 8 games round-robin match play
5 p.m. – Top 24, 8 games round-robin match play
  •   Top five after 48 games advance to stepladder finals


Saturday, Feb. 14
9:30 a.m., 3:30 and 6 p.m. – Pro-Am squads


Sunday, Feb. 15
1 p.m. – Top-Five, ESPN - Live Stepladder Finals 

Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

August, 2014