Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - April 16, 2014 AJ Johnson, Tannya Roumimper Named Collegiate MVP's

New Storm staffer AJ Johnson and Wichita State senior Tannya Roumimper (Indonesia) were named Most Valuable Players for the 2013-14 college bowling season Tuesday night by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association.

Johnson and Roumimper were honored with the rest of the All-Americans at the Night of Champions banquet held Tuesday in conjunction with the 2014 XBowling Intercollegiate Team Championships, which will open Wednesday at the Reno-Sparks Convention Center.

It was the second consecutive season Roumimper was honored as the collegiate MVP. She averaged 208.9 for 59 games, winning two of the eight events in which she competed.

Roumimper is joined as a first team All-American by Daria Kovalova (Ukraine) of Wichita State, Diana Zavjalova (Latvia) of Webber International, Sabrena Divis of Midland and Brittany Smith of Grand View.

Johnson, a two-time member of Team USA, out-averaged the men's field by more than two pins per game this season. He finished with a 222 average for 62 games and won three individual titles in nine events.

Joining Johnson as first team All-Americans were Chris Via of Notre Dame-Ohio, Perry Crowell IV of Midland, Cameron Weier of Robert Morris-Illinois and Marshall Kent of Robert Morris-Illinois.

Andrew Anderson of Davenport was named the men's Rookie of the Year, while the women's Rookie of the Year honors went to Brittany Smith. Shawn Wochner of Wisconsin-Whitewater was named the men's Coach of the Year, while Mark Lewis of Wichita State was honored as the women's top coach.

Also on Tuesday, the International Bowling Media Association announced its players of the year awards, which went to AJ Johnson and Daria Kovalova.




Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

April, 2014