Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - January 9, 2014 PDW, Mark Williams, Ryan Shafer, Tom Baker Win PBA Regional Awards


Eighteen bowlers were recognized for their achievements in the seven Professional Bowlers Association regions as recipients of Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and PBA50 Player of the Year awards, PBA Regional and PBA50 Tour Director John Weber announced today.

In the Northwest and West Regions, six-time PBA Tour winner Chris Warren of Grants Pass, Ore., earned Player of the Year honors for the second consecutive year. It was his fifth award in the Northwest and third in the West. He won two titles in each region, had six other top-five finishes in the West and three more top-three finishes in the Northwest.

Dean Richards of Tacoma, Wash., earned Rookie of the Year honors in the Northwest and West thanks to winning two events in the Northwest and one in the West. Two-time Tour winner Kent Wagner of Reno, Nev., earned his first Northwest and West PBA50 Player of the Year honors with the help of two wins in each region.

In the Southwest Region, Joe Findling of Mesquite, Texas, earned his first Player of the Year honor by winning two tournaments and finishing third twice. Roger Petrin of Bel Air, Kan., was selected as Rookie of the Year after winning one event, finishing second twice and fourth once. PBA Hall of Famer Mark Williams of Beaumont, Texas, earned his first PBA50 Player of the Year honor after winning one title.

In the Midwest, Dave Beres of Waukesha, Wis., earned his first Player of the Year award after two wins and one fifth-place finish. Eric George of Waite Park, Minn., won Rookie of the Year honors after winning one title. PBA Hall of Famer and 2013 PBA50 Tour Rookie of the Year Pete Weber won his first PBA50 Midwest Player of the Year award with three wins, three second-place and one third-place finish in the seven events he entered.

In the Central Region, PBA Tour rookie E.J. Tackett of Huntington, Ind., earned his first Player of the Year honor with one title, one second, five fourth-place and a fifth-place finish. T.J. Schmidt of Mishawaka, Ind., earned Dan Ottman Rookie of the Year honors with a best finish of eighth, two match play appearances and four cashes. Kenny Parks of Hammond, Ind., earned his third PBA50 Player of the Year honor after winning two titles and eight other top-five finishes including four second-place finishes.

Four-time Tour winner Ryan Shafer of Horseheads, N.Y., earned his second consecutive East Region Player of the Year title after four wins, one third-place and one fifth-place finish. Gary Haines of West Babylon, N.Y. won the Rookie of the Year nod with a best finish of second and three match play appearances. John Conroy of Mahopac, N.Y., earned his first PBA50 Player of the Year award  withfour top-five finishes including one title.

Kyle Troup of Hickory, N.C., earned his first Player of the Year award in the South Region with two wins, one second-place and two third-place finishes. Anthony Colosimo of Pembroke Pines, Fla., earned Rookie of the Year with a best finish of eighth and two match play appearances in four tournaments. Hall of Famer Tom Baker of King, N.C., earned his second PBA50 Player of the Year with three wins, two runner-up and four third place finishes. Baker also made match play in all 13 tournaments he entered.

The PBA also announced its Pat Patterson Award winners, selected by PBA Regional Tournament Directors in recognition of contributions made to their respective regional programs. Winners are: Frank Miceli, who earned his third consecutive award in the Midwest region; PBA Hall of Famer Dave Husted, Milwaukie, Ore. (Northwest); Bryan Williams, Plumas, Calif. (West);  David Tullos, Spring, Texas (Southwest); Tony Johnson, Canton, Ohio (Central); Cecil Raymond, Sicklerville, N.J., (East), and Todd Wilson, Summerfield, N.C., (South).

The PBA conducted 160 regional and senior regional events during the 2012-13 season. Among those 160 events were six Regional Players Invitational tournaments that awarded the winners of each a spot in World Series of Bowling V and ultimately determined six finalists for the first RPI Finals which will be telecast by ESPN on Jan. 19.



Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

January, 2014