Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - July 14, 2013 Martin Larsen Breaks Thru at Storm San Marino Open


Storm staffer wins three consecutive matches against three of Europe's finest; Larsen and his fellow countrywoman Joline Persson-Planefors overtake the lead in the men's and women's EBT point rankings; Swede Rebecka Larsen wins women's ranking in Serravalle


Another Storm International Victory!

Martin Larsen of Sweden defeated tournament leader Petteri Salonen of Finland in the title match of the 9th San Marino Open, 235-207, en route to win his seventh career European Bowling Tour title and the 8.000 Euro top prize. 

It was the second day in a row a Storm staffer has won a major international title. Yesterday, Storm International staffer Kim Jun Yung of Korea won the It's Daejeon International Open World Bowling Tour tournament .

While Salonen, who received 5.000 Euro for second place, was looking for his first EBT title, the other three finalists owned a combined 25 European Bowling Tour titles. 

Larsen, a former World and European Champion and the 2011-12 PBA Tour Steve Nagy Sportsmanship Award winner, defeated one-time PBA champion and fellow Storm staffer Dominic Barrett  of England in the opening match, 250-215. Barrett, who was also targeting for his seventh EBT title, had to settle for fourth place, worth 2.500 Euro. 

Waiting for Larsen in the semifinal was three-time PBA champion and fellow Storm staffer Osku Palermaa of Finland, who is the European Bowling Tour's all-time leader in wins with 13 titles. Larsen topped the two-hander, 213-199, who received 3.500 Euro for third place. 

Larsen went on to defeat Salonen in the title match and earned 150 ranking points for winning an EBT "gold" tournament. That was just enough to overtake Barrett and Palermaa for the lead in the EBT's men's point ranking. 

Swedish bowlers dominated the ranking event as Larsen's fellow countrywoman Rebecka Larsen  finished ninth overall to win the women's ranking at Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle. Her teammate on the Swedish women's national team, Joline Persson-Planefors finished fourth among the 17 women in the 182-player field from 25 countries to take over the lead in the 2013 women's point ranking. 

The 9th Storm San Marino Open is the 10th stop of the 2013 European Bowling Tour and the third out of six EBT "Gold" tournaments this season. The tournament will be held July 6-14 at 18-lane Rose'n Bowl in Serravalle, San Marino and offers total prize fund of 60.000 Euro with 8.000 Euro going to the winner, 5.000 to the runner-up, 3.500 to the third and 2.500 to the fourth place finisher.

The San Marino Open features a 41 feet Kegel lane conditioning pattern with 23.32 ml volume oil total.

The qualifying of the San Marino Open (six-game series, unlimited re-entries) ran from Saturday July 6 through Saturday, July 13. The qualifying winner received a 1.000 Euro bonus.

Women receive 8 pins handicap each game throughout the entire tournament, a standard for women on the European Bowling Tour.

A total of 48 players advanced to the finals on Sunday, July 14 - the top 35 players from the overall qualifying standings plus the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 6-7, the top 3 from the squads conducted on July 8-9, the top 4 from the squads conducted on July 10-11, and the top 3 from the Desperado Squad. 

The top 8 qualifiers received two byes and qualifiers 9-16 got one. 

The other 32 players will bowl four games from scratch to cut to the top 16, who will meet qualifiers 9-16 in round two. Those 24 bowl another 4 games from scratch to cut to the top 8, who will join the top eight in the last four-game round before the cut to the top 4 who will determine the winner in a traditional stepladder final.

The 2013 European Bowling Tour consists of 19 tournaments in 13 countries including two Platinum, six Gold, four Silver and seven Satellite events.

The top 50 men and the top 50 women in each event earn ranking points based on how they finish. The winner of a Platinum tournament receives 250 ranking points, the winner of a Gold tournament such as the San Marino Open gets 150, the winner of a Silver tournament earns 100, and the winner of a Satellite tournament gets 50 ranking points.

Points are tabulated throughout the season and the top 16 men and the top 16 women qualify for the seventh EBT Masters to be held March 3, 2014 at Dolfijn Bowling in Tilburg, Netherlands immediately following the EBT Hammer Bronzen Schietspoel Tournament 2014.



Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

July, 2013