Bowling Balls by Storm - The Bowlers's Company™

Sign In

previous article »

Bowling News USA - May 29, 2013 Mike Fagan Leads Storm/Roto Grip Staffers at the Lucas Oil PBA Milwaukee Open

Mike Fagan leads the Storm/Roto Grip staffers in the field of 24 players advancing to the first match play round of the Lucas Oil Milwaukee Open Wednesday at AMF Bowlero Lanes.

Four-time Tour winner Bill O’Neill is the overall tournament leader.

The 28 players who competed in today’s Milwaukee Open cashers round were the top scorers from the combined qualifying rounds of the GEICO Summer Swing Badger, Wolf and Bear Opens. Mika Koivuniemi, Osku Palermaa, Sean Rash and Andrew Graff failed to advance to match play.

O’Neill had games of 224, 181, 167, 220 and 231 in today’s round to bring his 35-game pinfall total to 7,896 (225.6 average). He maintains a 19-pin lead Fagan in second with 7,877.

O’Neill, the 2010 U.S. Open champion, has already qualified for one Summer Swing TV final as the No. 5 qualifier for the Lucas Oil PBA Wolf Open.

Rounding out the top five heading into tonight’s first match play round are Chris Barnes (7,862), Chris Loschetter (7,824 and Pete Weber (7,804).

After this evening’s match play round, match play continues Thursday at 11 a.m. (Wolf pattern) and Thursday at 5:30 p.m. (Badger pattern). The top five after 59 games will advance to the Milwaukee Open finals at 11 a.m. Sunday at Bowlero.

The Milwaukee Open cashers round and match play rounds are being covered live, exclusively on PBA’s online bowling channel, Xtra Frame.

The stepladder finals for the Badger, Wolf, Bear and Milwaukee Opens will be contested Saturday at 11 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 6 p.m. respectively. The GEICO Summer King of the Swing special event will follow the Milwaukee Open finals Sunday at 2:30 p.m. The Summer Swing finals will air on five consecutive Tuesdays at 7 p.m. ET beginning June 11.


AMF Bowlero, Milwaukee, Wis., May 29

Cashers round (after 35 games, top 24 advance to first eight-game match play round this evening at 6:30 p.m. ET).

1, Bill O'Neill, Langhorne, Pa., 7,896. 
2, Mike Fagan, Fort Worth, TX, 7,877. 
3, Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, 7,862. 
4, Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio, 7,824. (using Storm)
5, Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 7,804. 
6, Andres Gomez, Colombia, 7,757. 
7, Anthony LaCaze, Melrose Park, Ill., 7,751. 
8, Aaron Lorincz, Belleville, Mich., 7,736. (Using Storm/Roto Grip)
9, Dan MacLelland, Canada, 7,726. 
10, Eugene McCune, Munster, Ind., 7,717. (Using Storm/Roto Grip)
11, Patrick Allen, Wesley Chapel, Fla., 7,678. 
12, Jon VanHees, Charlestown, R.I., 7,665. 
13, Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., 7,634. 
14, E.J. Tackett, Huntington, Ind., 7,627. 
15, Michael Haugen Jr., Phoenix, 7,622. 
16, Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, N.Y., 7,616. 
17, Dino Castillo, Carrollton, Texas, 7,609. 
18, Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y., 7,607. 
19, Jason Sterner, McDonough, Ga., 7,592. 
20, Jake Peters, Decatur, Ill., 7,589. 
21, Nathan Bohr, Wichita, Kan., 7,575. (Using Storm/Roto Grip)
22, Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C., 7,543. 
23, Patrick Girard, Canada, 7,524. 
24, Brian Valenta, Lockport, Ill., 7,515. 
25, Mika Koivuniemi, Hartland, Mich., 7,489, $1,000. 
26, Osku Palermaa, Finland, 7,478, $980. 
27, Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill., 7,476, $960. 
28, Andrew Graff, Las Vegas, 7,408, $940.


Share this Story:

previous article »


News Filter

Filter News

May, 2013